Cordova Companies Invest in Youth

Reblogged with permission from Connecting Cordova.


On Saturday, May 16, 2015, Cordova Telephone Cooperative and its subsidary Cordova Wireless Communications announced $20,000 worth of scholarships to a long list of deserving students.

2015 grads Sarah Hoepfner & Lindsey Hammer

Through its partnership with the Alaska Telephone Association (ATA), Cordova Telephone awarded CHS graduates Sarah Hoepfner and Lindsey Hammer with $2,000 and $3,000, respectively.

Cordova Telephone Cooperative and Cordova Wireless are also pleased to announce that Cordova High School senior, Lindsey Hammer, is the recipient of an additional $5,000 college scholarship from Cordova Telephone Cooperative (CTC) and the Foundation for Rural Service (FRS), the philanthropic arm of NTCA-The Rural Broadband Association. This is especially impressive, considering the amount awarded to Ms. Hammer and the competition she faced to receive this award. Out of over 1,400 applications received from rural youth across the United States this year, only fifty three scholarships were awarded in amounts that ranged from $1500-$5000.

 “We are thrilled to offer this program, with the goal of leveling the playing field for rural students,” said Paul Kelly, GM/CEO of Cordova Telephone and Cordova Wireless. “The FRS scholarship program enables rural telecommunications providers to show their support of the youth living in the communities they serve.  It is a source of tremendous pride for us and for the entire community of Cordova.”

Ms. Hoepfner and Ms. Hammer weren’t the only students to be rewarded for their hard work and dedication. Cordova Telephone and Cordova Wireless also awarded over $10,000 in their own scholarships to Cordova students this week. 2015 CTC scholarship recipients were Sarah Hamberger, Gabrielle Brown, Meryll Arcalas, Sarah Hoepfner, Robin Pegau, Casey Smyke, Lindsey Hammer, Dariah Songer, Chandelle Erby, and Ann Carlson. 2015 CWC scholarship recipients were Sarah Hamberger, Gabrielle Brown, Meryll Arcalas, and Sarah Hoepfner.

CTC scholarship recipients Chandelle Erby, Sarah Hamberger and Meryll Arcalas.

CTC strongly supports the youth of our community and is thrilled to sponsor this worthy program.  FRS scholarship recipients were selected by an independent team of reviewers from the education field. To be eligible, recipients must be sponsored by a NTCA member system, and must indicate a desire to return to their rural communities once their collegiate studies have been completed. CTC and CWC’s scholarship committee is comprised of CTC members and board members with experience and interest in education and Cordova Youth. Applicants are required to be paying customers and seniors in high school, planning to attend an accredited university or vocational school. For more information on CTC/CWC scholarships, visit


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s